Skip to main content

Table 1 General characteristics of the four Sasang constitutional types

From: Suggestion of new possibilities in approaching individual variability in appetite through constitutional typology: a pilot study

  TY type SY type TE type SE type
Hyperactive organ system Lung* Spleen* Liver* Kidney*
Hypoactive organ system Liver* Kidney* Lung* Spleen*
Insidious greed and deviations Indiscipline, Ignobility Pretentiousness, Frivolity Acquisitiveness, Avarice Stealthiness, Prevarication
Personality Communicative, decisive Forceful, strong-willed Consistent, reliable Prudent, composed
Sign of health Plentiful urination Brisk perspiration Easy defecation Comfortable digestion
Sign of illness Restricted urination Obstructed perspiration Hindered defecation Strained digestion
  1. * These represent the functional and structural conceptualization of organs specific to the Sasang constitutional typology that are completely different from their namesake organs in Western medicine. In Sasang constitutional medicine, the variegated functions of the human body is summarized into the interactions of the four organ systems that represent the following roles in the body: the Lung system is involved in the process of dispersing the energy-fluid material, the Liver system in concentrating the energy-fluid material, the Spleen system in the containing of the water-food material, and the Kidney system in discharging of the water-food material.
  2. [adapted from Kim et al.[8]].